Ten Kirkland students honored by AAUW

Kirkland juniors recognized by AAUW for excellence in math, science and technology. Ten Kirkland junior girls were honored for excellence in math, science and technology by the Kirkland-Redmond Branch of the American Association of University Women at an awards ceremony held April 22, 2013, at the Lake Washington School District Service Center.

The honorees, who were each nominated by their schools, are:

Math Scholars:  Anna Villa, Emerson; Anne Li, International Community School; Gloria Liu, Juanita; Michelle May, Lake Washington.


Science Scholars:  Rachel Roberts, International Community School; Paula Pabustan, Juanita; Anna Posthumus, Lake Washington.


Technology Scholars:  Aishwarya Nirmal, International Community School; Stephanie Burd, Juanita; Victoria Peskin, Lake Washington.

Each honoree was given a certificate of excellence, and two gifts.  The program also included a presentation by Helene Martin, a Lecturer at the UW Computer Science and Engineering Department, who spoke about the variety of careers available to graduates who have studied math, science and technology.

Further information about AAUW can be found at:  www.aauw.org, www.aauw-wa.org or kr-wa.aauw.net.  Founded in 1881, AAUW advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy and research.  In particular, AAUW advocates for pay equity, freedom from bullying and harassment, support for STEM programs, and enforcement of Title IX.  The Kirkland-Redmond Branch was founded in 1977 and welcomes inquiries about membership.  It can be found on facebook at:  http://www.facebook.com/aauwkrbranch.