City announces 2013 youth basketball “Steve Hale Sportsmanship Award” recipients


In memory of Stephen (Steve) Hale, the City of Kirkland’s Parks Superintendent from 1956 to 1961 and “founding father” of the City’s Pee Wee Basketball Program, thirty local youth were recently honored with the “Steve Hale Sportsmanship Award.” Youth basketball league coaches and teammates selected players from each team to receive the Award because the players exemplify outstanding sportsmanship, team play, and a positive attitude throughout the 2013 season.  Below are the 2013 recipients:


  • Macy Inman
  • Megan Hughes
  • Tyson Henson-Larson
  • James Andrew Koop
  • Justin Bradshaw
  • Ryan Anthony Singh
  • Corey Guzik
  • Blake VanWyk
  • Christian Harmon
  • Colin Lenseigne
  • Conner Freinik
  • Jack Olmstead
  • Jeremy Masiwchuk
  • Marko Milovanovic
  • Merrick Roe
  • Naim Mubarak
  • Ross Gebert-Goldsmith
  • Keegan Eby
  • Jake Heber
  • Caden Hough
  • J.R. Hentges
  • Charleigh Sumner
  • Miles Rhoten
  • Meagan Pearson
  • Owen Williams
  • Lauren Yates
  • Caden Cook
  • Emma Sammons
  • Jake Heber
  • Ishaan Subramanian


Hale was the original administrator of the City of Kirkland Youth Basketball League and his belief in outstanding sportsmanship continues to impact youth today.  He also served as coach, umpire, and referee for many sports and groups of all ages for 25 years in Kirkland. He developed and expanded youth sports in Kirkland and improved facilities by fostering volunteerism. Hale emphasized teamwork, fundamentals, self-development, hustle, and above all fun and outstanding sportsmanship. For more information about youth recreation programs, visit