Kirkland’s Sue Contreras & Studio East receive CACHET Award

On March 11, Kirkland’s Mayor Joan McBride and the Cultural Arts Commission awarded the CACHET Award to Kirkland resident Sue Contreras and Kirkland business Studio East. Contreras was recognized for her efforts in fundraising for the restoration of the Capt. Anderson Ferry Clock and for her volunteer support of Summerfest. Studio East was honored for its work with youth in the performing arts. Contreras has served on the Kirkland Performance Center Board of Directors, has co-chaired events and celebrations, is a current member of Kudos Kirkland, and was a key volunteer for the Summerfest 2012 event. Her latest achievement was being a driving force behind the restoration of the 1935 historic Anderson Ferry Clock that was recently re-installed at Lake Street and Kirkland Avenue.

Studio East, which celebrated its 20th anniversary in 2012, is one of the region’s largest theater training centers in east King County and is newly relocated with expanded facilities in the Totem Lake Business District. It offers comprehensive programs including drama class, theater arts camps, home school programs, and main stage productions for children aged four through 19. Lani Brockman, Founding Artistic Director, accepted the award.

In addition to the award ceremony, several art students from the International School painted on stage, in response to audience poll that they paint pictures about a day in the life of a teenager.

The CACHET award was created by four sixth grades at Peter Kirk Elementary School in YEAR. Each student was asked to draw his/her own home and/or a notable Kirkland landmark, including many of Kirkland’s arts, culture, and heritage destinations. These have been combined into an extraordinary image of Kirkland through the eyes of local children that CACHET award recipients can display with pride.

Nominations were pre-screened by the Kirkland Collaboration of Arts, Culture, Heritage, Education, and Theatre (CACHET) committee which is made up of members of the Kirkland Cultural Council. Final award recipients were selected by the Kirkland Cultural Council and Mayor Joan McBride.