Joan McBride Elected as Kirkland’s Mayor; Doreen Marchione as Deputy Mayor

Oath of Office Administered to Asher, Nixon, Sternoff


 The City of Kirkland has released the following:

At its January 3, 2012 meeting, the Kirkland City Council unanimously elected Joan McBride to serve as Mayor and Doreen Marchione as Deputy Mayor.  Both positions are elected by the City Council to serve two-year terms.   McBride has been on the City Council since 1998 and has served as Mayor from 2010-2011 and as Deputy Mayor from 2002-2009.  Marchione has served on the City Council since January 2010.


Also at the meeting, Kirkland Municipal Court Judge Michael Lambo administered the oath of office to Council Members Bob Sternoff (Position No. 2), Toby Nixon (Position No. 4), and Dave Asher (Position No. 6) who were elected to office in the November 2011 general election.  Sternoff and Asher were re-elected; Nixon was newly elected and they join Council Members Joan McBride (Position No. 1), Penny Sweet (Position No. 3), Amy Walen (Position No. 5), and Doreen Marchione (Position No. 7).


The Mayor is elected from within the City Council and presides at City Council meetings and represents the City at various ceremonial functions and at community and intergovernmental meetings. This position does not exercise veto power. The Deputy Mayor is also elected from within the City Council and presides over meetings during the absence of the Mayor.

The City Council meets the first and third Tuesday of each month with a Study Session held at 6 p.m. and the Regular Meeting held at 7:30 p.m.  To receive meeting agendas via email, subscribe to the Kirkland Email Alerts at and select “City Council Agendas.”  The meetings are broadcast live and rebroadcast on KGOV (Comcast Channel 21; Frontier Channel 31) as well as rebroadcast on Klife (Comcast Channel 75; Frontier Channel 32).  Meetings can also be streamed from Kirkland TV On-Demand at and search “Watch Council Meetings.”