Oath of Office Ceremony for Kirkland City Council, January 3

Council Members Sternoff, Nixon and Asher take ceremonial oath


At the January 3, 2012 Kirkland City Council meeting, Council members Bob Sternoff (Position No. 2), Toby Nixon (Position No. 4), and Dave Asher (Position No. 6) will take a ceremonial  Oath of Office administered by City Municipal Court Judge Michael Lambo.  Kirkland residents are invited to the ceremony which begins at 7:30 p.m. in the Council Chambers at City Hall, 123 5th Avenue.  Also at this meeting, the City Council will select a Mayor and Deputy Mayor who will serve through December 31, 2013.


Sternoff has lived in Kirkland since 1981 and has served on the City Council since December 2005. Prior to serving on the Council, he served eight years on the Kirkland Park Board including three terms as Chair.


Nixon served as State Representative for the 45th District (2002-2007) and as a commissioner of King County Fire Protection District #41 (2009-2011).  He chaired the Kirkland Ethics Task Force which drafted a code of ethics for the Kirkland City Council.


Asher has served on the Kirkland City Council since January 2000. Prior to serving on the City Council, he was the Chair of the North Rose Hill Neighborhood Association and Co-chair of the Kirkland Alliance of Neighborhoods.


For biographical information for Kirkland City Council members, visit www.kirklandwa.gov/council.