Kirkland students receive National Merit College-Sponsored Scholarships

Two students among 2,900 distinguished students recognized nationwide

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation (NMSC) announced on May 25 that two Lake Washington School District students,Alexander Burt from Juanita High School and Julia Saxby from International Community School, have received National Merit College-Sponsored Scholarships.

Alexander received a National Merit Brigham Young University Scholarship. Julia received a National Merit Whitman College Scholarship. Previously announced awardees received National Achievement, National Merit Corporate-Sponsored or National Merit $2,500 Scholarships.

More than 2,900 winners of National Merit Scholarships financed by colleges and universities were announced by NMSC today. Officials of each sponsor college selected their scholarship winners from among Finalists in the 2011 National Merit Scholarship Program who plan to attend their institution. These awards provide between $500 and $2,000 annually for up to four years of undergraduate study at the institution financing the scholarship.