19 LWSD Students Named National Merit Finalists

Nineteen Lake Washington School District students have been selected as finalists in the National Merit Scholarship Competition. As finalists, these students are now qualified to receive National Merit Scholarships, including $2500 awards, corporate-sponsored scholarships or college-sponsored scholarships. About 15,000 students nationally have been named finalists in this competition.

The following students have advanced to finalist status in the National Merit Scholarship Program: Eastlake High School:

  • Nicholas Pitt

International Community School:

  • Erin Antono
  • Ian Backstrom
  • Dorris Hwang
  • Sana Nagar
  • Julia Saxby

Juanita High School:

  • Alexander Burt
  • James Piper
  • Dorothy Tsai
  • Anna Veltkamp

Lake Washington High School:

  • Joseph Wu


Redmond High School:

  • Logan Dougherty
  • Darien French-Owen
  • Raluca Ifrim
  • Chris Lim
  • Jeff McNerney
  • Joe Mercer
  • Arjun Narayanan
  • Ben Wright

All winners of Merit Scholarship awards are chosen from the finalist group, based on their abilities, skills, and accomplishments. Each finalist is evaluated on their academic record, information about the school's curricula and grading system, two sets of test scores, the school official's written recommendation, information about the student's activities and leadership, and the finalist's own essay. Scholarships will be awarded between March and June 2011.