Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee announces honorary co-chairs, endorsements



Endorsement list for April 2016 bond includes business leaders, elected officials

The mayors of all three communities served by the Lake Washington School District have been named honorary co-chairs of the campaign to pass an April 26, 2016 school bond measure, the Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee announced.

Kirkland Mayor Amy Walen, City of Redmond Mayor John Marchione and Sammamish Mayor Don Gerend are supporting the bond proposition, which is aimed at providing more classroom space to relieve school overcrowding that keeps getting worse. (Please note: the use of the title is for identification purposes only.) It prioritizes the schools’ most urgent needs to ensure the greatest impact district-wide – all while maintaining the current tax rate.

“We are fortunate to have these outstanding community leaders uniting with us to support this important bond measure,” said Eric Campbell, CEO of Main Street Property Group and a member of the citizens committee.  “They recognize the value of a high-quality education system to a thriving community. And we can do it through a thoughtful, long-term approach to improve our children’s schools without raising the tax rate.”

Added Lake Washington School District parent Kirstin Larson: “By agreeing to serve as honorary co-chairs, our mayors have demonstrated that the April 2016 bond proposition is a sensible solution to address the needs of our rapidly-growing school district, ensuring our kids are getting the best opportunities to learn.”

The citizens levy committee also released a full list of individuals and organizations endorsing the bond measure as of Feb. 12, 2016:

Affordable Housing Council

Jay Arnold, Kirkland Deputy Mayor

Nancy Bernard, Public Health Advisor

Barbara Billinghurst, co-founder, Funding Washington Schools

Angela Birney, Redmond City Council Member

Siri Bliesner, LWSD Director, District 5

Eric Campbell, CEO, Main Street Property Group

Frank Chopp, Speaker of House, Washington House of Representatives

Santo Contreras, former Deputy Mayor and member Kirkland City Council 

Tony and Martha DeAmicis, LWSD parents

Jane Dulski, LWSD parent

Judy East, LWSD parent

Bill Finkbeiner, former State Legislator, Kirkland

Roger Goodman, Washington State Representative, 45th District

Andy Hill, State Senator

April Isenhower, LWSD parent

Matt Isenhower, Trustee, Lake Washington Schools Foundation

Emily Johnson, LWSD parent

Erika Kapur, LWSD parent

Robert K. Kelley, MD, Totem Lake Family Medicine

Gregory Kovsky, President, IBA

Walt Krueger, Partner, Krueger Beck

Lake Washington Education Association

Lake Washington High School PTSA

Eric Laliberte

Kristin Larson, LWSD parent

Matt Loschen

Master Builders Association of King and Snohomish Counties

Joan McBride, Washington State Representative, 48th District

Sherri Nichols, former trustee, Lake Washington Schools Foundation

Kerri Nielsen, Managing Broker/Realtor

Jennifer O’Keefe, LWSD parent

Todd Olberg, principal, The Blue Line Group

Johanna Palmer, Vice President, DeYoung Mfg.

Jackie Pendergrass, former School Board Director

Tom Pendergrass, UW and Seattle Children’s

Peter Kirk Elementary PTSA

Jay Pulacode, LWSD parent

Kathleen Reynolds, LWSD Paraeducator

Seattle King County Realtors

Byron Shutz, Redmond City Council Member

Beth Sigall, LWSD parent

Brad and Laura Stevenson, future LWSD parents

John Stilin, Redmond City Council Member

Mark W. Stuart, LWSD District 4 Director

Archana Sunil, LWSD parent

Penny Sweet, Kirkland business owner

Kevin Teeley, LWSD Education Association President

Shawn Thornsberry, LWSD parent

Tara and Peter Van Niman, LWSD parents

Bob Yoder, editor and writer, Redmond Neighborhood Blog

For more information, visit the Lake Washington Citizens Levy Committee’s website at