Kirkland Police Chief elected WASPC President


Washington Association of Sheriffs & Police Chiefs installs Chief Eric Olsen


The Washington Association of Sheriffs and Police Chiefs (WASPC) has announced that Chief Eric Olsen, Kirkland Police Department, was elected as its President.  At the Association’s recent Annual Awards Banquet, Sheriff Ozzie Knezovich, Spokane County Sheriff’s Office, installed Chief Olsen as the 2014-2015 President. Olsen seeks to develop a financial investment strategic plan, encourage WASPC members to become more involved in the public safety community, and to work with the Washington Association of Prosecuting Attorneys on legislative issues.  Chief Olsen has served on the WASPC Executive Board since 2010. 


As Kirkland’s Police Chief, Olsen oversees a department of 141 commissioned and non-commissioned personnel.  The Kirkland Police Department includes:  Corrections, Patrol, Investigations, Traffic, Special Response Team, Crisis Negotiations Team, Major Investigations Response Team, K9 Unit, Crime Analysis and Pro-Act Team. It has resources dedicated to family safety including the Family Violence Unit, Domestic Abuse Response Team, School Resource Officer and the Neighborhood Resource Officer. Specialized patrol services are led by the Traffic Unit and supported by the Traffic Fatality Investigations Team and Parking Enforcement Officers.  Olsen has worked for the Department since 1988 and has been Chief since 2007.


As of June 9, 2014 the Kirkland Police Department will be located at 11750 NE 118th Street in the new Kirkland Justice Center.