Kirkland youth basketball “Steve Hale Sportsmanship Award” recipients announced


In memory of Stephen (Steve) Hale, the City of Kirkland’s Parks Superintendent from 1956 to 1961 and “founding father” of the City’s PeeWee Basketball Program, local youth were recently honored with the “Steve Hale Sportsmanship Award.”  City of Kirkland Youth Basketball League coaches and teammates selected players to receive the Award. Award recipients exemplified outstanding sportsmanship, team play, and a positive attitude throughout the 2014 basketball season. Below are the 2014 recipients: 

·         Luke Charvet

·         Ellie Sivesind

·         Zoe Luzama

·         Jack Suk

·         Andrew Dahlman-Oeth

·         Quincy Yoshida

·         Pritika Vipin

·         Tyler Sloan

·         Ben McKay

·         Nathan Ghilarducci

·         Rosa Smith

·         Sophie McDaniel

·         Guillo Carlson

·         Elliott Nichols

·         “Black Mambas” Team

·         Eli Main

·         Cole Hopkins 

Hale’s belief in outstanding sportsmanship continues to impact the youth today. Hale also served as coach, umpire, and referee for many sports and group of all ages for 25 years in Kirkland. He developed and expanded youth sports in Kirkland and improved facilities by fostering volunteerism. Hale emphasized teamwork, fundamentals, self-development, hustle, and above all fun and outstanding sportsmanship.


For more information about youth recreation programs, visit