EvergreenHealth Physicians Recognize Colleagues for Exceptional Care and Service



EvergreenHealth’s medical staff recently recognized three colleagues for exemplary care and service at the third annual Medical Staff Award Dinner and Ceremony. Each year, EvergreenHealth’s medical staff – made up of more than 950 physicians – is invited to nominate and vote for their peers in the categories of leadership and innovation and physician excellence, and the medical staff officers recognize one outstanding individual for ongoing support. 


Dr. Hope Wechkin, medical director of EvergreenHealth Hospice and Palliative Care services, received the Leadership and Innovation Award for her contributions to teamwork, innovation, leadership and years of service. Dr. Wechkin cares for patients and supports families affected by serious and terminal illnesses through EvergreenHealth’s hospice and palliative care services.


Dr. Geoffrey Ferguson was presented with the Physician Excellence Award in recognition of his contributions to advancing patient care through compassion, respect, accountability and collaboration. Dr. Ferguson is an interventional radiologist, using advanced imaging technology to diagnose and treat a variety of health needs.


“On behalf of the entire medical staff, we are proud and humbled to work in the company of so many high-quality and compassionate health care providers,” said Dr. Scott Burks, EvergreenHealth medical staff president. “We look forward to the opportunity to recognize the dedication and outstanding work of our peers each year and are continually inspired by the quality of care and service shared not only with our patients, but among our collaborative medical staff.”


In addition, EvergreenHealth’s Medical Staff Officers – the leadership group representing the physicians and health care providers at EvergreenHealth – bestow an award to an individual whose work supports the ongoing commitment to medical and clinical excellence at EvergreenHealth.


This year’s Medical Staff Officers Award recipient is Peggy Hamernik, selected for her commitment, dedication and tireless effort to the medical staff. Hamernik is the continuing medical education specialist at EvergreenHealth, responsible for curating relevant educational activities for physicians and health partners that comply with state and national standards.


For more information about EvergreenHealth and the award recipients, visit www.evergreenhealth.com.