On Wednesday, at 11:00 a.m., the Nickel Bros. Moving Company will relocate Kirkland’s historic Trueblood House, located at 127 7th Avenue, to a nearby church where it will be stored temporarily. The home will be relocated again once it is sold.
The owners of the house, Michelle and Timothy Currier, knew their growing family needed more space, but also recognized the historic significance of the house and waited patiently for a solution that would allow for the landmark to be preserved.
The Nickel Bros., a house moving company based out of Vancouver, stepped up to the plate and financed the temporary relocation of the home in an effort to preserve it. Working closely with the City, Historical Society and Public Works, the Nickel Bros. will transport the house to First Baptist Church located on First Avenue, just around the corner from the home’s original location. The moving process will take approximately three hours.
The home’s unique architectural style tells the story of Kirkland's very beginnings. It was located one block from the busiest street in town, then known as Picadilly. The house was one of eight homes built in 1889 by the Kirkland Land and Improvement Company; incorporated by Peter Kirk and Leigh J. Hunt, owner and publisher of the Seattle Post Intelligencer. Seven of the homes were built for steel mill executives while the Trueblood House was built for Kirkland’s first doctor. It later housed the family of Dr. Barclay Trueblood, whose name remains associated with the home.
What happens next with the house depends on the future buyers. For now, this little piece of Kirkland’s history remains in limbo.
For more information on the Trueblood House, contact the Nickel Bros. at (425) 257-2067.