LETTER | Last chance for input regarding seaplanes at Carillon Point!

 

Dear Editor:

Carillon Point has submitted a request to be allowed to operate seaplanes out of their dock. June 20 is the last chance to submit comments! 

 

The service would include two planes docking along the guest pier of the Woodmark Hotel, offering 20-minute flights. The planes would operate from 9 a.m. to one hour before sunset, year-round. If the permit is approved, it could open the door for similar operations elsewhere in Kirkland.

 

If you have concerns about noise or other impacts, it is urgent that you send them before June 20 at 5 pm.

After city planners complete their review process, there will be a public hearing. A hearing date has not yet been set, but will probably be in September, and will be in the evening. 

 

Any residents or property owners who received notices from the city will be notified of the hearing, as well as anyone who sends written comments. Those who send written comments will also have the ability to appeal. The public notice signs, city notice board at City Hall, and City website will also be posted with the hearing date. 

 

After the hearing, the City Hearing Examiner will make a decision to approve, modify, or deny the application. The decision will be based on whether the application complies with Kirkland’s Zoning Code and other applicable codes. The final decision will be made by the State Department of Ecology.

 

If you have concerns about noise or other impacts, it is urgent that you send them before June 20 at 5 pm. If seaplanes are allowed at Carillon Point, it would set a precedent for seaplanes to be allowed elsewhere on the lake.

 

Permit information can be viewed at https://permitsearch.mybuildingpermit.com/. Enter permit number SHR16-00803.

 

In your letter, reference SHR16-00803 and send the email to:

 

CGeitz@kirklandwa.gov,EShields@kirklandwa.gov,ktriplett@kirklandwa.gov,awalen@kirklandwa.gov,jarnold@kirklandwa.gov.skloba@kirklandwa.gov.psweet@kirklandwa.gov,tnixon@kirklandwa.gov,dasher@kirklandwa.gov,dmarchione@kirklandwa.gov

 

The above list includes:

 

Planner Christian Geitz CGeitz@kirklandwa.gov

Planning Director Eric Shields <EShields@kirklandwa.gov>

City Manager Kurt Triplett ktriplett@kirklandwa.gov

Mayor Amy Walen awalen@kirklandwa.gov

Deputy Mayor Jay Arnold jarnold@kirklandwa.gov

Councilmember Shelley Kloba skloba@kirklandwa.gov

Councilmember Penny Sweet psweet@kirklandwa.gov  

Councilmember Toby Nixon tnixon@kirklandwa.gov    

Councilmember Dave Asher dasher@kirklandwa.gov

Councilmember Doreen Marchione dmarchione@kirklandwa.gov

 

Sue Contreras