Online Petition started to Save Houghton Community Council

An online petition has been launched titled, Save Houghton Community Municipal Corporation and Defeat HB 2610. The sponsor of the petition is listed as "Citizens to save Houghton Community Council", an unaffiliated group of Kirkland citizens. The petition, an effort to defeat HB 2610 which would eliminate the Houghton Community Council, is addressed to nine state representatives and reads as follows:

Rep. Dean Takko (Chair), (360) 786-7806, dean.takko@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Joe Fitzgibbon (Vice Chair), (360) 786-7952, joe.fitzgibbon@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jan Angel (Ranking Member), (360) 786-7964, jan.angel@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Katrina Asay (Asst. Ranking Member), (360) 786-7830, katrina.asay@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Jay Rodne, (360) 786-7852, jay.rodne@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Norma Smith, (360) 786-7884, norma.smith@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Larry Springer, (360) 786-7822, larry.springer@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Steve Tharinger, (360) 786-7904, steve.tharinger@leg.wa.gov

Rep. Dave Upthegrove, (360) 786-7868, dave.upthegrove@leg.wa.gov

Dear Representatives:                                                                                        

We, the undersigned  ask you to defeat  HB 2610. (This bill would do away with community municipal corporations in the state of Washington. We oppose this action). We argue this now, and in any future debate, based on the following:

a)    We should not be legislating away something that is a prior agreement between two former cities, particularly when neither party to the agreement has asked for its termination. 

b)    Courts have held “Procedural due process requires notice which is reasonably calculated under the circumstances to apprise affected parties of pending action and to afford them an opportunity to present their objections.” [Version 3.1 Planning Association of Washington. Page 4-2.]

c)    No notice has been given to the citizens of Houghton or Kirkland, and enacting HB 2610 would deprive property owners of a right previously enjoyed. At minimum, personal notice and hearing are required.

To view the online petition, visit: http://www.ipetitions.com/petition/title-save-houghton-community-municipal/signatures